Club History

Club History

Ballyboden Wanderers G.A.A. Club was founded in 1910. We played our first match against Clanna Gael Fontenoys in April 1910. The match was played by permission of Padraig Mac Piarais in the grounds of Scoil Eanna, Grange Road Rathfarnham. The club won the inaugural Dublin Junior Football Championship in 1928.

The club disbanded in 1932 and while there some fixtures played in the intervening years, it was not officially reformed until 1961. After winning the Dublin Junior Football Championship in 1968, under the captaincy of Seán Doherty, the Ballyboden Club amalgamated with Rathfarnham St. Enda's in order to join the senior ranks under the name Ballyboden St. Enda's

In 1980, a group of breakaway members formed Wanderers. Since then, the club has gone from strength to strength, now fielding 4 very successful football teams, catering for anyone between the ages of 8 and adulthood.

The club boasts 8 acres (32,000 m2) of ground incorporating two playing pitches, and a training area at the panoramic Frank Kelly Park, which was officially opened by former Dublin County Secretary, Mr. Jim King (R.I.P.) in 1991.

 Major Events In The Club's History

The opening of Frank Kelly Park in 1991 was an important milestone in the club's development. It was also very significant because it occurred while our eminent Club President Frank Kelly was still alive, making our grounds the first to be dedicated in tribute to a living member of the association. This was clearly in breach of the official GAA Rules but did we care? Frank had given a lifetime of service to the club. He went to his eternal rest in 1995.

The turning of the first sod of their new clubhouse development, which was performed by Minister Tom Kitt in March 1998, heralded a new era for our club. The clubhouse was officially opened early in 1999.

In 2006 Wanderers opened the latest phase of their development. This included a meeting room and a weights room.



Player Profile

Damien Gallagher

Latest Video view all

Wanderers 2nd team v Shankill 2016